The Olginskaya Gymnasium is a secondary school situated in the center of Pavlovsk. The building has a unique history associated with the Romanov family. In 1913, on the orders of Emperor Nicholas II, the school was transferred under the auspices of his younger sister, the Grand Duchess Olga Alexandrovna.
By Imperial order His Majesty the Emperor Nicholas II on 4th November 1913, “had the grace to accept Pavlovsk Gymnasium for Girls, of Voronezh region under the patronage of Her Imperial Highness the Grand Duchess Olga Alexandrovna, and name the Gymnasium after Her Highness as Olginskaya”, notes the document, which is stored in the “Complete Collection of Laws of the Russian Empire”.
This summer, the Moscow artist Alexei Viktorovich Sokolov, an associate professor of the Moscow State Stroganov Academy of Industrial and Applied Arts (MGHPA), painted a portrait of Emperor Nicholas II passing the gymnasium in Pavlovsk under the auspices of the Grand Duchess Olga Aleksandrovna.
The opening of the portrait in the gymnasium building took place after a Divine Liturgy was held in the Kazan Cathedral of Pavlovsk on 21st July 2018, attended by the school and city administration. The portrait was blessed by the bishop of Rossoshansk and Ostrogozhsky Andrew, who served a brief prayer to the Royal Passion-Bearers
On 4th November 2017, a special plaque was unveiled on the facade of the gymnasium in honour of Grand Duchess Olga Alexandrovna.
© Paul Gilbert @ Royal Russia. 31 July 2018